Gr8chefmb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Joy of Facebook! July 31, 2009

Social networking….is that something that strikes fear into your very heart? I used to be fearful…worried about pervs trying to get to me; annoying people who think they know all; etc., etc. I grudgingly set up a MySpace page and a Facebook page…not too sure about the other social networking sites.

 

Since I have set up my Facebook page, I have been seriously amazed at all the old (not age old…okay, maybe so…LOL) classmates I have found…some of them going all the way back to kindergarten. It is just hysterical. I have even been brave enough and bold enough to tell several high school classmates that I had crushes in high school. Holy cow! Of course, I am not sure I would have been bold enough to do so in person…maybe, maybe not.

 

The thing about technology is that despite its seeming impersonalness (is that even a word?), it allows everyone to connect with everyone else, even when they are miles apart. Keeping in touch can be done at our convenience without regard to time zones, schedules, postage rates, etc. We can laugh at ourselves and our contacts, but no one is the wiser. We can share memories and lives, bad times and good, inane and important events, etc. Sure, a lot of the comments are silly, but it breaks the monotony of our existence. It also crosses the boundaries of break-ups, bad feelings, or whatever because you can choose who you want as your ‘friend’ and how much you want to stay in contact with your ‘friends.’

 

I have actually found people that were extremely important in my life that I thought had been lost forever. How cool is that? It is also seriously cool that I can remember certain things, all because someone made me their ‘friend.’ It may be something I hadn’t thought about for years and years, but a glimpse of a face brings it back just like it happened yesterday.

 

I think the jury might still be out on social networking sites, but in my humble opinion, they are a good thing. It is all about freedom of choice, and like the song says, ‘You can choose not to decide, but you still have made a choice.’ Happy Posting! 🙂

 

One Response to “The Joy of Facebook!”

  1. socialelves Says:

    Great Article here is anotherDigg Marketing Tool Get thousands of visitors per day,http://wwww.socialelves.com


Leave a Reply

